President Kaplan, UNH Community Members Recognized by West Haven Black Coalition
President Kaplan, UNH Community Members Recognized by West Haven Black Coalition

President Steve Kaplan was awarded the 2016 President’s Appreciation Award from the West Haven Black Coalition at its 30th annual scholarship dinner.

Kaplan shared the award with Gifty Annan, vice president and senior market manager at Peoples United Bank, and West Haven Mayor Ed O’Brien.

“What I’m proudest of is the incredibly strong, positive relationship the University has with the surrounding community and West Haven,” Kaplan told the New Haven Register.

Several others with UNH ties were also recognized at the event.

Linda Copney-Okeke ’91 A.S., ’94, ’02 M.S., director of the University’s Accessibility Resources Center, received a community service award. In addition to her leadership of the Accessibility Resources Center, she serves as the advisor to the UNH NAACP Student Chapter and as co-advisor to the Black Student Union.

President Kaplan (back row, second from left), Linda Copney-Okeke (front row, second from right) and Brehanna Thompson ’17 (front row, far right)

Photo courtesy of New Haven Register.

Brehanna Thompson ’17 received the UNH/ Chief Donald R. Scott/WHBC Scholarship Award. A criminal justice major, she volunteers in the community and hopes to one day open a center dedicated to helping at-risk youth.

“Both Linda and Brehanna are outstanding examples of the University’s commitment to the community we call home,” said Kaplan.  “For UNH, community service is not something that happens at the periphery. It’s central to our educational philosophy. We believe community service to be a core element of experiential education, an important learning opportunity commingled with a responsibility to make our community a better place for everyone.”

Bookmark and Share

Back to the Front Page